35 students, six residents, two faculty inducted into Gold Humanism Honor Society

October 23, 2014

Fourth-year medical students, residents and faculty members were recently honored as inductees into the 2014-15 IUSM Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society during a ceremony on Oct. 17.

Thirty-five students representing the top 10 percent of their class were chosen from a group of peer nominations in recognition of their role as exemplars who demonstrate excellence in clinical care, leadership, compassion and dedication to service.

Six resident physicians and two faculty members were also selected from student nominations as individuals who practice patient-centered care by modeling the qualities of integrity, excellence, compassion, altruism, respect and empathy.

The student inductees were Samantha Armstrong, Manickavelu Balasubramanian, Chelsie Baughman, Heather Benson, Alyssa Bolduan, Angie Budgin, Jacob Capito, Aisha Davis, Samantha Deans, Danyal Fer, Kristin Geros, Charles Goodwin, Christopher Green, Kathryn Hodgdon, Mark Hood, Kathleen Kelley, Erin Ketchem, Chris Lamb, Michael Maurer, Carissa May, Derryl Miller, Liz Nafziger, Kate O'Connor, Jonathan Parish, Sarah Parrish, Carolyn Payne, Darren Plummer, Alexander Schneider, Jared Shields, Scott Speelziek, E. Paige Darnell, A. Nichole Sullivan, Jason White, Mallory Williams and David Yang.

The resident inductees were Pi Chun (Jennifer) Cheng, M.D., Internal Medicine/Pediatrics; Jayanti M. Clay, M.D., Obstetrics and Gynecology (OB); Christopher M. Kniese, M.D., Internal Medicine, Chief Resident; Brian C. Phillips, M.D., Emergency Medicine/Pediatrics; Jordan D. Raynor, M.D., Neurology; and Allison S. Remiker, M.D., Pediatrics.

The faculty inductees were Sheryl Allen, M.D., associate dean for medical student affairs and associate professor of clinical emergency medicine and pediatrics; and Margaret Gaffney, M.D., clinical associate professor of medicine and dermatology. Dr. Gaffney is also past director of the Introduction to Clinical Medicine Course and Moral Reasoning and Ethical Judgment Competency.

The following Gold Humanism inductees also received scholarships in recognition of student professionalism, humanism and service:

Nikki (Annette) Sullivan received the Lynda J. Means Award for service to the underserved. Mark Hood was given the Gerald Bepko Award for Professionalism. Charles Goodwin received the Gerald Bepko Award for Community Service. The six Janice M. Pascuzzi recipients named in recognition of their compassionate care were: Manickavelu Balasubramanian, Alyssa Bolduan, Derryl Miller, Darren Plummer, David Yang and E. Paige Darnell.  

The Arnold P. Gold Foundation established the Gold Humanism Honor Society in 2002 as a signature program to recognize medical students, residents, and faculty who practice patient-centered care by modeling the qualities of integrity, excellence, compassion, altruism, respect and empathy.