IUSM alumnus Brown receives prestigious Hine Medallion

March 5, 2015

Terry R. Brown (B.A. ’73, M.D. ’77) is one of three recipients of this year’s Maynard K. Hine Medallion.

From left, Terry R. Brown, MD ’77, Residency ’81; IUPUI Chancellor Charles R. Bantz; and David Nguyen, JD ’06, president-elect of the IUAA Alumni Council. | Photo By IU ALUMNI ASSOCIATION

The Medallion is awarded annually to alumni for significant contributions in support of the campus and its alumni programs. It is named after the first chancellor of IUPUI, who believed that strong alumni programs were essential for the university.

Dr. Brown completed his residency in obstetrics and gynecology at the IU School of Medicine in 1981, and has hosted fourth-year medical students at his clinic since 1985. He has been a volunteer clinical professor at the school’s Evansville campus since 1995. Dr. Brown, who is from Evansville, has held multiple leadership positions in the IUSM Alumni Association, including president.

The two other Hine Medallion recipients are Ronald L. Crain (B.F.A. ’66) of the IU Herron School of Art and Design and Rose M. Mays (M.S.N. ’74, Ph.D., R.N.) of the IU School of Nursing.

The three honorees received their medallions at the Alumni Leaders’ Dinner on Feb. 26 at the Indiana State Museum.