Tucker Edmonds named National Academy of Medicine anniversary fellow

October 22, 2015

Brownsyne M. Tucker Edmonds, M.D., M.P.H., M.S., has been selected by the National Academy of Medicine as the 2015 Norman F. Grant/American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology Fellow, just one of five prestigious anniversary fellowships offered each year to outstanding health professionals.

Brownsyne M. Tucker Edmonds, M.D., M.P.H., M.S. named Norman F. Grant/American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology Fellow  | Photo By IU School of Medicine

Dr. Tucker Edmonds is an assistant professor of obstetrics and gynecology at the Indiana University School of Medicine. Her selection comes as part of the 2015 National Academy of Medicine Anniversary Fellows, with each fellow chosen based on professional qualifications, scholarly reputation, professional accomplishments and relevance of current field expertise to the work of the NAM and the Institute of Medicine.

As an ABOG fellow, Dr. Tucker Edmonds will collaborate with eminent researchers, policy experts and clinicians from across the country. She will help facilitate initiatives convened by the academy to provide nonpartisan, evidence-based guidance to national, state and local policymakers, academic leaders, health care administrators and the public.

She will continue to serve in her current role with the IU School of Medicine while engaging part-time, over a two-year period, in the academy’s health and science policy work. She will work with an expert study committee or roundtable related to obstetrics and gynecology, including contribution to its reports and other products. She will also receive a flexible research stipend of $25,000.

Dr. Tucker Edmonds is also a recipient of the Indiana Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute/National Institutes of Health KL2 and RWJ Foundation Amos Scholar career development awards.

To read more about this fellowship and the other four fellowships awarded, read the National Academy of Medicine’s official announcement.