Shekhar and Foroud named IU distinguished professors

February 16, 2017

Anantha Shekhar, MD, PhD | Photo By IUSM

Anantha Shekhar, MD, PhD, the August M. Watanabe Professor of Medical Research, and Tatiana Foroud, PhD, the Joe C. Christian Professor of Medical and Molecular Genetics, have been promoted to distinguished professor, the highest academic rank Indiana University bestows upon faculty. Dr. Shekhar also serves as associate vice president of research for university clinical affairs, and Dr. Foroud is chair, IU School of Medicine Department of Medical and Molecular Genetics.

The two IU School of Medicine faculty members were among nine IU scholars and researchers to earn the rank of distinguished professor this year. The full list of recipients and links to their bios are available in the IU Newsroom.

"These acclaimed men and women represent the pinnacle of public education through their remarkable research, teaching and service in an extraordinarily wide range of disciplines," IU President Michael A. McRobbie said. "Our students and campuses have benefited beyond measure from their superb accomplishments, scholarship and integrity, and it is most appropriate that we honor these faculty with Indiana University's most prestigious appointment."

The distinguished professorship recognizes faculty who have transformed their fields of study and have earned international recognition.

Tatiana Foroud, PhD | Photo By IUSM

Faculty, alumni, professional colleagues and students nominate the field of candidates based on outstanding research, scholarship and artistic or literary distinction. Nominations are reviewed by the University Distinguished Ranks Committee, which recommends appointments.

The university will hold a Distinguished Professor Symposium on Monday, March 20, in Presidents Hall at Franklin Hall in Bloomington, and on Monday, April 17, in Hine Hall in Indianapolis to formally recognize the honored professors.