2017: IU School of Medicine year in review

December 14, 2017

While IU School of Medicine’s successful reaccreditation is a significant achievement, the school has much to celebrate this year. Here is a monthly summary of news that made INScope headlines in 2017. 


  • Samia Hasan, MD, appointed IU School of Medicine director of mental health services. Dr. Hasan is responsible for ensuring the quality and availability of mental health services at each of the school’s nine campuses.
  • Leaders from nine Northwest Indiana health care institutions sign a formal letter of intent to create the Northwest Indiana Graduate Medical Education Consortium.



  • IU School of Medicine Literature in Medicine student interest group sponsors second annual book drive to help Hoosiers who are homeless.
  • Melissa Kacena, PhD, associate professor of orthopaedic surgery, sent dozens of mice into space on the SpaceX rocket to test a form of bone-healing therapy.
  • IU School of Medicine improves in U.S. News & World Report’s annual Best Graduate School rankings in research and primary care.
  • Class of 2017 celebrates Match Day on March 17. Fourth-year students, with support from family and friends opened sealed envelopes revealing the details of their residency positions.


  • IU School of Medicine’s Evening of the Arts event raised approximately $5,500 for health organizations that provide services to the underserved in Indianapolis.
  • Eskenazi Health Foundation gives $2 million to help IU School of Medicine emergency physicians develop innovative ways to serve city’s most vulnerable residents.
  • Annual Chuckstrong gala raises more than $1 million for cancer research.
  • The Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) concludes its five-day reaccreditation site visit at IU School of Medicine.
  • Spring House Calls, IU School of Medicine’s longest running service project, celebrated its 22nd year as medical students brightened up the city’s east and west side communities through a day of gardening.


  • The Graduate Medical Education division of IU School of Medicine received continued accreditation from the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).
  • IU School of Medicine cancer researchers awarded $2.9 million to study the debilitating effects caused by chemotherapy.
  • IU School of Medicine graduates 431 doctors and scientists during May 13 commencement ceremonies. Donald E. Brown, MD, IU School of Medicine alumnus and software engineer, delivers keynote address.
  • IU School of Medicine-Terre Haute’s student outreach clinic wins the Indiana Rural Health Association’s Collaboration Award.


  • IU School of Medicine launches new blogs hub on school’s website, medicine.iu.edu.
  • Pathways, a new bi-monthly podcast, launches, exploring careers in science through in-depth conversations with doctors (PhDs) in non-academic positions.
  • David Wallace, MD, MPH, named chair of Department of Ophthalmology.
  • Emily Walvoord, MD, professor of clinical pediatrics, appointed to serve as associate dean of student affairs.


  • A $25 million grant from Lilly Endowment will fund the Indiana Collaborative Initiative for Talent Enrichment (INCITE), a life sciences research collaboration between IU School of Medicine and non-academic partners.
  • Indiana Graduate Medical Education Board approves seven new positions for IU School of Medicine residents to address the state’s critical need for more physicians.
  • Raghu Mirmira, MD, PhD, named director of Herman B Wells Center for Pediatric Research.


  • MD Class of 2021 participates in traditional White Coat Ceremony on Aug. 4.
  • IU School of Medicine launches mobile app for learners. The app provides convenient access to a wide variety of resources.


  • Jerome Adams, MD, MPH, associate professor of clinical anesthesia, is sworn in as the nation’s 20th surgeon general.
  • Tom Hurley, PhD, appointed new associate dean for research and graduate studies.
  • IU School of Medicine researchers identify promising treatment for people suffering from post-TBI aggression.
  • Department of Orthopaedic Surgery receives $200K for a new state-of-the-art training tool, allowing faculty, fellows and residents to establish proficiency in surgical techniques in a low-risk environment.
  • The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) selects IU School of Medicine as one of nine Pathway Leaders in its Pursuing Excellence in Clinical Learning Environments initiative.


  • IU School of Medicine, in partnership with Rehabilitation Hospital of Indiana, receives a $2.1 million grant to study traumatic brain injury (TBI) over five years as one of 16 National Institute on Disability Independent Living and Rehabilitation Research (NIDILRR) Traumatic Brain Injury Model Systems sites in the country.
  • Marly Bradley, MD, JD, FAAP, appointed ombudsperson in IU School of Medicine Ombuds Office. Dr. Bradley is available to learners on all campuses who wish to discuss concerns, complaints or disputes in an impartial, safe environment.
  • The gross anatomy lab and other Holmstedt Hall facilities at IU School of Medicine-Terre Haute are renovated.
  • School awarded $7.6 million grant to study early-onset Alzheimer’s disease.
  • IU School of Medicine earns full LCME reaccreditation for eight years.


  • Paul M. Wallach, MD, a nationally recognized leader in academic medicine, named executive associate dean of educational affairs and institutional improvement.
  • Stephen Cico, MD, MEd, associate professor of clinical emergency medicine and clinical pediatrics, named assistant dean for graduate medical education. 


  • David Ingram, MD, named president of IU Health Physicians.
  • After 35 years of service to IU, John Watkins, PhD, associate dean and director of the Indiana University Bloomington Medical Sciences Program, announces plans to retire in April 2018.